Change Is In The Air

“Have we met?!?”

This is what I said to a dear friend recently when he told me “You love change and adventure and new things and new people”. Um, nope! I hate all of those things. If I had my way, I’d only leave the house to buy bread, milk, and new books. Of course what my friend meant was that I’m always going on adventures and exploring new things and meeting new people. And he’s right, I am. Because no matter how terrified I might be, I know that the life of a hermit is pretty dull and no matter how anxiety-inducing change and adventure might be, they always leads to wonderful things, wonderful people, and I’m always glad I embraced the uncertainty.

As Shut Up & Write Tuesdays winds up for another year, I wanted to tell you about some of the changes and adventures we have lined up for 2016. Two of our hosts – Dr Rebecca Jefferson and myself – will be stepping back in 2016. Rebecca is going on maternity leave and we can’t wait to welcome a new baby to the SUWT family! I will be moving to the UK, to take up a position at the University of Exeter, and I can’t wait to experience real winters again! And, not to be outdone, our wonderful @SUWTNA host, Jennifer Goff, is getting married. With her PhD completed, Jen couldn’t put it off any longer and we can’t wait to see the photos!

While she’s on leave, Rebecca will be replaced by the wonderful team of Louca-Mai Brady, Dr Emma McKinley, and Madeleine Pritchard. We are delighted to have these talented women join our team and know they will do an amazing job hosting @SUWTUK.

As I head overseas, Dr Sharon McDonough will take on the hosting duties for @SUWTues. Sharon has been guest hosting almost since Shut Up & Write Tuesdays began and will bring so much light and laughter to the role.

Shut Up & Write Tuesdays has grown so much over the last few years and we have been overwhelmed by the positive response from academics around the world. Although I’m stepping back from hosting duties, I will continue to be the driving force behind Shut Up & Write Tuesdays and I’m looking forward to supporting our talented hosts, improving the service we provide, and exploring new opportunities for expansion.

Finally, we will be taking a break over the Christmas period and we encourage you to do the same. You’ve all worked so hard this year and you deserve a bit of R&R. Our first session for 2016 will be 2nd February and if you want to plan your year, all the dates for 2016 are available on the Schedule page.

Change can be scary and new adventures can bring much trepidation, but here at Shut Up & Write Tuesdays we know that change is a part of life and with all the new adventures we’ve got planned, we’re pretty sure that 2016 is going to be our best year yet!

-Siobhan

 

2 thoughts on “Change Is In The Air

  1. Soo Yeon Yim says:

    Just to say that I think what you and your colleagues are doing is truly inspiring. Wish I had known this whilst finishing up my PhD, but I’m glad I know of it now! Welcome to the UK, and especially welcome to the lovely city of Exeter, where I am currently working. If you have any thoughts on setting up an offline group (with actual coffee and everything!) please do drop me a line! – Best wishes from Soo

    1. Siobhan O'Dwyer says:

      Thanks Soo! I don’t have the capacity for an offline group in Exeter, but I strongly encourage you to start one amongst your colleagues. If you build it, they will come! Hope to see you around Exeter -Siobhan

Leave a Reply

